The council is made up of councillors elected by the electors of the parish. The recent parish council election was uncontested  because there were fewer candidates than the allocation given – in the case of the RPC the allocation was 10. 

The Powers of the Parish Councillors can be divided into (3) three main areas:

  1.  Powers to provide facilities
    • Provision and maintenance of recreation grounds, park, children’s play areas and playing fields
    • Cleaning and draining of ponds, watercourses and ditches
    • Acquisition and provision of right of way
    • Bush shelters*
    • Signposting of footpaths*
    • Lighting of footpaths *
    • Control of litter
    • Traffic calming*
    • Provision of cycle and motorcycle parking
    • Support and encouragement of entertainment and the arts
  2. Representative powers
    • All planning applications
    • Proposal to carryout sewage works
    • Intention to make bylaws in relation to street naming
    • Right of way surveys
  3. Miscellaneous powers
    • Creation of neighbourhood plan
    • Consultation on appointment of governors of primary schools
    • Guardianship of common land

This is an indicative list of the RPC’s powers. The scope of the RPC’s powers may change and that is subject to the Localism Act 2011 (c.20)
* subject to the consent of the Warwickshire County Council (WCC). More on the Remit of The Parish Council and the above can be found here.

Please follow this link in order to find who your representatives are, what their roles & responsibilities within the council, and what drives them to do their best for Our Village.

Information on Council Meeting dates, minutes and documents can be found here.

About Us image